Chair of Governors Report-2016

Chair of Governors/
Warren Tucker



Canon Tom Clammer

Canon Tom Clammer is Precentor of Salisbury Cathedral where he organises the worship and music for some 1500 services which take place each year. Before taking up this role in 2012 he was a parish priest in rural Gloucestershire, and before that a suburban parish in Gloucester City. He is Governor of Salisbury Cathedral School as well as of Wyvern College, and is Chaplain to Salisbury Sea Cadet Unit. He lives in the Close with his wife, Emma, who teaches at a sixth form in Hampshire.


Henry Head Photo

Mr. H Head

Henry is a former secondary school teacher, local authority officer, Diocesan Director of Education, OFSTED inspector, External Adviser for Headteacher Performance Management, lay canon of Salisbury Cathedral.  Currently Licensed Lay Minister and a Cathedral Tower Guide.



S Evans

Dr. S Evans

I have lived in Laverstock since 1991. I am a retired GP and hospice doctor. I have three sons, who were all educated in Salisbury. I am interested in seeing Wyvern flourish as a valued and distinctive part of the secondary school provision in Salisbury. (I have 8 grandchildren who are, or in coming years, will be going through the education system here, so have a vested interest).Special responsibility in the governing body is child protection.  

Mr Trevor Branch

Mrs Lucy Salisbury

Director Appointed Governor

J Paterson Photo

Mrs. Jan Paterson, Vice-Chair

I am currently retired having spent my whole career in Education. I was a primary Headteacher in the Salisbury area for 23 years. My past teaching experience includes expertise in nursery education, primary education and special education. I have also been an Advisory Teacher and an Ofsted Inspector.


Parent Governor

Mrs Julia Wheatley


Mrs C Tailby


Mr, J Glenn, MP in Salisbury

Mr, J Glenn, MP

John Glen was born in Bath in 1974. He studied Modern History at Oxford University (MA, 1996) and gained an MBA from Cambridge University (2003). After Oxford John worked as a Researcher for two Government Ministers (1996/7) and then embarked on a 13 year career in strategy consulting at Andersen Consulting (subsequently Accenture).

John worked in the oil and gas industry, public sector and as a Senior Manager was special adviser to the Global Managing Director for Strategy Consulting where he managed his employer’s relationship with the World Economic Forum, attending Davos in 2007, -2009. John was seconded to support the Leader of the Opposition (Rt.Hon. William Hague MP) in 2000/2001 and served as Deputy Director and then Director of the Conservative Research Department 2005-6.  John served as a Magistrate (JP) in Westminster 2006-20012.

Entering Parliament in 2010 as MP for Salisbury, Wiltshire John was elected to the House of Commons Defence Select Committee; he left the Select Committee in 2012 to become Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS) to Rt. Hon Eric Pickles MP , Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government. John has chaired the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Global Uncertainties since 2012. John is married to Emma and has two step-children.

Clerk to Governors

Mrs C Sawyer –

Governing Body Attendance and Pecuniary Interests for 2016/2017

Name Governor Type and Appointing Body


Appointment Date Term of Office Pecuniary/ Material Interest or Additional Governor Role Committee Specific Responsibilities Attendance for 2016/2017
Mr Trevor Branch Foundation (Diocese of Salisbury) 13/06/2017 4 years Chair of Governors, Pembroke Park Academy LGB: 1/1
Mr Paul German Head

(Governing Body)

N/A N/A Staff

Governor, WASP

All FGB: 4/4

LGB: 3/3


Canon Tom Clammer Foundation Ex Officio (Diocese of Salisbury) N/A N/A No relevant interests Ethos (Chair)


FGB: 2/4

LGB: 0/3


Dr Sharon Evans Foundation (Diocese of Salisbury) 26/05/2015 N/A No relevant interests Ethos Safeguarding FGB: 4/4

LGB: 3/3


Mr John Glenn Associate

No voting rights

(Governing Body)

11/09/2014 4 years MP

Chairman, Conservative Christian Fellowship

None N/A
Mr Henry Head Foundation (Diocese of Salisbury) 01/09/2014 4 years Governor at Winterbourne Earls Primary School and Salisbury Sixth Form College Ethos


FGB: 4/4

LGB: 2/3

Captain Ian McClure Parent (Parents/ Governing Body) 15/11/2013 4 years No relevant interests Ethos


Health and Safety FGB: 1/4

LGB: 1/3

Mrs Jan Paterson Local Authority (Governing Body) 29/06/2015 4 years No relevant interests Curriculum (Chair) Vice Chair of Governors



FGB: 3/4

LGB: 2/3

Mrs Lucy Salisbury Foundation (Diocese of Salisbury) 13/06/2017 4 years No relevant interests LGB: 0/1
Mrs Frances Smith-Wain Foundation (Diocese of Salisbury) 24/07/2013 4 years No relevant interests Curriculum



Chair of Governors


FGB: 4/4

LGB: 3/3


Mrs Christina Tailby Staff         (Staff/  Governing Body) 10/06/2016 4 years Staff Curriculum Ethos FGB: 4/4

LGB: 3/3

Mrs Julia Wheatley Parent (Parents/  Governing Body) 07/03/2016 4 years No relevant interests Curriculum FGB: 3/4

LGB: 2/3

Mrs Mary Bordass Foundation (Diocese of Salisbury) 09/07/2015 Resigned 31/03/2017 4 years None FGB: 4/4